top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePaula Lennon

12. Preparing for chemo

Updated: Dec 29, 2020


My consultation at the Royal Marsden came up very quickly. On 26th July, James and I drove to Sutton nervously awaiting the meeting with Professor Johnston. A statue outside of the hospital caught my eye, it read:

“This mother and child is a symbol of love and confidence, health, protection and happiness set here to express our purpose to welcome, comfort, relieve and cure.”

It was emotional entering the hospital because you know that everyone there has been affected by cancer in one way or another. Whilst there is sadness, greater than that is also an immense feeling of hope. That day I felt hopeful and in search of answers and a plan.


After a short wait we were called into Professor Johnston’s office. There were also two nurses present. From his review of my medical notes, he asked a few more questions. He then explained in detail the biology of my breast cancer. To put things in perspective we were told that in the US there are trials taking place on women with high grade DCIS whose cancer cells had not spread to their lymph nodes undergoing chemotherapy. As I had DCIS and the cancer had spread to one of my sentinel nodes he strongly advised 12 weeks of weekly Paclitaxel and Herceptin injections every 3 weeks for the period of 1 year. Tamoxifen tablets are then prescribed for the next 5 years. The rationale for my treatment was carefully explained and I felt confident leaving the meeting that this plan is what I need to follow to reduce any further risks.


One of the nurses, Karen then explained that if I wanted to do scalp cooling to minimise hair loss, then I’d need to cut at least 3 inches off my hair. I wanted to do everything possible to minimise hair loss so I definitely wanted to opt for scalp cooling. This gave me under 3 weeks to get “chemo ready”.


I contacted my friend Laura Eaton and she made what was going to be a daunting experience, a really positive one by giving me a very stylish graduated bob. I don’t know why, but I kept my cut hair in a freezer bag for a few days till I felt ready to let go of it. It’s not like I could put it back on my head but your hair is such a personal thing, I needed to throw it away in my own time and move forward.


There were other things needed for scalp cooling. My friend Julia bought me some Green People gentle shampoo and conditioner, I got a wide tooth comb, headband, leave in conditioner and paracetamol.

Having read posts on the Mummy’s Star forum, I was curious about microblading. I got in touch with a lady called Laura from Definition Semi Permanent Make-up & beauty. After exchanging a few messages and a call, I went to have my eyebrows microbladed. Laura was absolutely fantastic and such a kind lady. After getting to know eachother, we found out that our daughters are only weeks apart in age. She explained that like so many people, her family have been affected by cancer and she doesn’t charge for clients undergoing chemotherapy. Profit from clients having cosmetic treatment fund this generous gift.


I had been told about The Olive Tree Centre, a local support centre in Crawley. My friend Samantha and I made an appointment to meet the team and visit. They were so friendly and told us about all the services that they offer to patients and their families. I was particularly interested in the Pink Ribbon Pilates exercise program they offer to those who want to strengthen following breast surgery. I booked to start the course in October. Also before we left I booked a complimentary therapy to look forward to during chemo treatment.


The day before chemo I met Annie, a lady who volunteers at the McMillan Centre in East Surrey Hospital. She told me all about different head coverings should I lose my hair during chemo. I tried on a wig for the first time and a turban. It felt surreal and brought home the reality that losing my hair was likely over the coming months. When I enquired about the cost of a wig, I was astonished at the prices. Annie kindly gave me a donated hat and I ordered a few Christine turbans from her.


So there it was, a drastic make over and preparation in time for chemo to begin. I’d read the information leaflets and tried to mentally prepare myself for what was to come. It felt different mentally preparing for treatment that was to last 12 weeks which was harder than preparing for the mastectomy. The mastectomy and reconstruction was a one off, I knew I would wake up and it would be all over, however 12 weeks of chemotherapy was completely different.

153 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page