top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePaula Lennon

19. Up at the O2 Mothers Day climb

Updated: Feb 3, 2021


From the day I was diagnosed, McMillan signposted me to the charity Mummy’s Star. Mummy's Star is the only charity in the UK and Ireland dedicated to supporting pregnancy through cancer and beyond. Since I joined the charity, I have found that they have been a huge support emotionally through my cancer journey. I became part of a forum of Mothers who have sadly experienced situations similar to ours. The charity helped us by giving our family a grant. They also gave The Hearts Milk Foundation a grant so they could give us donor breast milk for our daughter when she was born premature. Two years on from diagnosis and I feel this is the time to give back to one of the charities that truly helped us.


I was overjoyed when Mummy’s Star contacted me and said Experience Days were hosting an Up at the O2 climb in celebration of Mother’s Day. Along with 12 other women, I was chosen as a deserving Mother to take part in the adventure. I set up a fundraising page and counted down the days for the climb.


On the 14th March. I met fellow Mummy’s Star members, Jill and Karlee, for the first time as we embarked on a new experience and climbed the O2 together. The day was more than a climb, it marked a milestone in my recovery. It felt wonderful to know I was doing something I’ve always wanted to do whilst raising money for a deserving charity. Jill and Karlee were so friendly, we chatted throughout the afternoon and shared experiences. We climbed the 52 metres to the highest point and the views were amazing, we could see for miles! It was a wonderful uplifting day and one that I will remember always. I'm hoping to fundraise again soon, I'm so delighted that I managed to raise £2150 for a worthy and incredible charity.





82 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page