top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePaula Lennon

20. Micropigmentation, the finishing touch

Updated: Dec 29, 2020


Areola micro pigmentation is a medical tattoo in which colour is implanted into the skin of your breast reconstruction to re-create the colour and shape of the nipple-areola. The aim of the procedure is to create an areola that is as realistic as possible. The procedure is normally carried out 2-3 times with at least a 6 week interval. As with any tattoo, it will fade and will need repeating in 18 months – 2 years time if you wish to retain the colour.


I had an initial chat with the breast care nurses, Pam and Rebecca in March. At this appointment they were very thorough at explaining what the procedure involves. We sorted paperwork and I asked some questions. Also I was given a patch test which was quick and painless leaving a small dot of colour. Shortly after this appointment, we went into lockdown as the global pandemic hit.


When lockdown eased temporarily in September 2020, I went back to the McIndoe to have the procedure done. After my mastectomy, I have been left with minimal feeling on my left side so no local anaesthetic was needed, just a numbing gel. I was pleasantly surprised at how the colour matching was done. There were several colours all lined up in little pots (like nail polishes) ranging from light pink to dark brown. To get a close match to my skin tone, two of these colours were mixed and the shape was painted on my chest to ensure I was happy. Once I was happy, the tattooing took place. It caused little discomfort and the first session took less than an hour.



I did have the option to have my right side tattooed as it was used for the nipple share part of the reconstruction. However after talking it through with the nurses I decided against it. I was careful with the aftercare, and after a week applying Vaseline and covering the treated area, the tattoo settled, the skin peeled and a lighter colour remained. For the second procedure, which is where micropigmentation is repeated in my case 8 weeks later, I was amazed as I could feel a slight tingle. It was explained that the procedure can stimulate nerve endings and this is what was happening.


Psychologically having the micropigmentation has brought an element of closure to my journey, I'm so pleased with the result. I look in the mirror and I feel like me again. It's a good feeling.

60 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page