top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePaula Lennon

15. Mammogram results

Updated: Dec 29, 2020



Since finishing chemo, I experienced the first anniversary of my cancer diagnosis and I have to be honest, I struggled with all the emotions. What helped, was to have a few counselling sessions. I was nervous about going back to work and petrified about the annual mammogram. I felt panicked, there were all these countdowns and the more I waited, the more nervous I became. Speaking to someone, completely on the outside of it all was therapeutic.

Time went so fast, before I knew it we were singing Happy Birthday to my daughter and I looked at her in amazement that she was already 1 years old. Soon after, I was back at work and sat at my desk. After returning to work, 2 weeks later I had my mammogram and MRI. Thoughts about the results occupied 95% of my thoughts.


At last results day came. During my appointment with my breast surgeon, James, my Dad and I heard the words we have been praying, wishing and waiting to hear...

“Your mammogram came back clear...you are breast cancer free”

Miss Waheed told me that I have to believe the cancer won't come back and to get into that mindset going forward. I felt so elated that as soon as we walked out of the room, I burst into tears. Happy tears, the relief was indescribable. All the scans, the countless appointments, the mastectomy surgery, chemotherapy and everything in between all were worthwhile and I couldn’t be more thankful. I had scored a 1 on my Tomography Mammogram. This is the lowest score you can get indicating minimal concern for breast cancer. The score of a 4 means it's highly likely it's reoccurred.

Preventative treatment will continue in the form of injections till August and a further 4 years of daily tablets. Follow up surgery is booked at the end of August to symmetrise my breasts.


I know there will always be a risk of reoccurrence and as such, many cancer patients are hesitant about sharing that they have the all clear. Being "in remission" means another 4 years of clear results.. I hope to be in remission in years to come. For the meantime I will be celebrating. I’ve certainly gained a different outlook on life and when there’s something to celebrate, you celebrate! You go on trips, wear your best, book that holiday, order the nicest dish on the menu, you give your children that extra cuddle, you tell you family and friends you love them and you don’t hold back.

80 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page